The National Governing Body for Volleyball in Wales

Inter Regional Beach Volleyball Championship 2019 comes to Cardiff Beach Volleyball Centre in Victoria Park

Inter Regional Beach Volleyball Championship 2019 comes to Cardiff Beach Volleyball Centre in Victoria Park

July 8, 2019

2 July 2019


The Inter Regional Beach Volleyball Championships 2019 is the first event of its kind in the UK and will take place on 13-14 July at the Cardiff Beach Volleyball Centre.  Team from eight of the 10 regions will take part including; East Midlands (EM), London(LON), North West (NW), South East (SE), South West (SW), Wales (WAL), West Midlands (WM) and Yorkshire (YOR).


The competition format is similar to what the USA collegiate system (NCAA) and global volleyball governing body (FIVB) uses for their championships and Olympic qualifiers.  So how does it work?  Each regional team is comprised of comprises of four players who are designated as Pair #1 and Pair #2. In the competition, Pair #1 from Team A will play Pair #1 of Team B and the same for Pair #2. If at the end of those two matches the score is 2-0 to one region then the “dual” is over. However, if the matches finish 1-1 there is a deciding ‘golden’ set to 15 points where the coach can nominate any combination of the four Team players to take part.


The event is the brain child of Denise Austin, the Beach Volleyball Competitions Officer for the Academy of Beach Sports, based in North Devon. “The UK already has an Inter Regional indoor volleyball competition which is very popular amongst our talented young players, so we identified a gap to deliver a something similar on the sand,” Denise explains.  “Our event includes many England International beach and indoor volleyball players and serves as a stepping stone for young players looking to take their game to the next level.”


The IRB event features England International beach players Carla Hulme (WM) and Alice Brand (WM), who recently played for England in the Middle European (MEVZA) U20 Championships in Slovenia. Additionally, the following IRB participants have been selected to represent England in the Northern European (NEVZA) Championships in Tylosand, Sweden later this month: Enrique Bello (LON), Alice Brand (WM), Lisa Canevari (LON), Kate Hill Anning (SW), Luke Honeybun (SE), Katie Keefe (LON), Jake Saunders (LON), Bartek Soczewka (LON), and Isabelle Tucker (SE).


The Full Regional Team lists with coaches (indicated with C), are as follows:

First Name Last Name Region
Monica Amabilino i Perez East Mids
Freya Baker East Mids
Daniela Costa Monteiro East Mids
Maddison Elsey East Mids
Michal Krawczyk East Mids
Thomas Graham-Jones East Mids
Bradley Masanga East Mids
Kuba Plotek East Mids
Ian Clews East Mids
Gemma McDougall East Mids
Lisa Canevari London
Nina Erminio London
Katie Keefe London
Lucy Knott London
Enrique Bello London
Jake Sanders London
Bartek Soczewka London
Nasir Khan London
Elsa Meserlian C-London
Rhianne Hambleton North West
Frankie Frize North West
Aileen Barry North West
North West
Connor Duffy North West
Ethan Lee-Akinya North West
Nathan Worsley North West
Matthew Wroe North West
Aaron McLoughlin North West
Harriet Breaden South East
Emilie Levich South East
Isabelle Tucker South East
Zoe Tucker South East
Daniel Furness South East
Luke Honeybun South East
Ben Osborne South East
Antony Wilson South East
Arsene De Kesel C-South East
Freda Bussey C-South East
Ellie Davis South West
Amelia Fumpston South West
Kate Hill-Anning South West
Beth Morgan South West
Freya Newton South West
Maisie-Ella Summers -WC South West
Tom Falkner Ham South West
Dan Huggins South West
Ritchie Lyall South West
Jack Midgley South West
Daniel Redstone South West
Kian Safaee South West
Luis Stansbury C-South West
Dave Gunter C-South West
Florenie Ermeje South West
Katie Anderson Wales
Jess Falkner Ham Wales
Freja Foot Wales
Elisa Ionascu Wales
Conor Robins Wales
Sandra Stoll Wales
Alice Brand West Mids
Rebecca Gaskell West Mids
Carla Hulme West Mids
Iona Young West Mids
Jack Dunkley West Mids
Louis Coggins West Mids
William Evans West Mids
Daniel Howe West Mids
Yan Naydenov West Mids
Tyler White West Mids
Hannah Marie Kettle West Mids
Alistair Donaldson West Mids
Daisy Cage Yorkshire
Lauren Jones Yorkshire
Ben Gladstone Yorkshire
William Miller Yorkshire
Harry Morgan Yorkshire
Oliver Quick Yorkshire
Martyn Quick Yorkshire
Liz Jones Yorkshire